Sundance M - Astra review TripAdvisor

Sundance-M

“Just perfect.”
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Wally would be extremely proud to see the development that has taken place at the Astra lodge. The Italian Restaurant has a great choice of food. One of my top 4 venues at Falls Creek. Worth a visit.

Reviewed August 2016

emily25_2525 - Astra review TripAdvisor

emily25_2525

Fresh local produce
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Amazing place and amazing staff. We shared an fantastic antipasti plate with high quality produce. Milawa 1/2 chicken was amazing and these chefs know how to do an amazing desert. Bitter chocolate mousse with Fennel meringue the presentation was outstanding. Overall Astra staff know how too make a winter awesome.

Reviewed July 2016

katkarvess - Astra review TripAdvisor

katkarvess

Ski in for amazing food and service
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

I went to Astra after a night skiing session. Literally skied up to the door from my lodge. The atmosphere is slick and stylish, yet warm and inviting. After a cocktail at the couches, my friends and I were seated at a table and braced ourselves for the meal ahead. When the meals came, we we’re blown away – my friend ordered a traditional Italian-style gnocchi dish; it was cooked to perfection. I had the Osso Bucco, also delicious with the meat dripping of the bone. The staff were fantastic and attentive, almost knowing what we wanted before we did. I would definitely go back to Astra again and highly recommend it to everyone.

Reviewed July 2016

HP8_11 - Astra review TripAdvisor

HP8_11

Pleasantly surprised
TripAdvisor 4 star rating

Found this by accident and had a really good evening. The fire is enormous and the bar is clearly a pretty popular place for after ski drinks. The dining area is off to one side and a nice space although they still have some work to do to rejig the overly high banquets. Normal tables however are fine and after we moved to one, we had a good dinner with a really excellent ragu pappardelle in particular. Affogato in front of the fire to finish and we could have stayed the night. Prices were pretty reasonable for a ski resort and we’re tempted to go back before we leave.

Reviewed July 2016

Suncomm - Astra review TripAdvisor

Suncomm

Best place in village
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Very nicely renovated to set the scene for an enjoyable evening’s dining. The bar area is also very popular and little wonder as it is also in character with the excellent refurbishment of Astra Lodge. This bar is also where many staff choose to catch up after they finish their shifts around the slopes and village; it is easy to understand why. The extensive drinks menu is a pleasure to peruse, the selection of top shelf gin particularly tempting. The Italian theme food is amongst the best I have enjoyed, complement by excellent table service. Unfortunately, if you are a first time interstate traveller like our family you are at the mercy of the fickle weather at Falls Creek, but the owner’s investment in Astra Bar and Restaurant and accommodation offerings might just tempt me away from Japan and Canada after giving the Australian Alps a try for the first time.

Visited June 2016

James T - Astra review TripAdvisor

James T

“Best cocktails in the village
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Really friendly and knowledgeable staff – great cocktails and wine list… beautiful venue to spend your time (and money) in between shooshing around!

Visited June 2016

KariE00 - Astra review TripAdvisor

KariE00

Fabulous Gnocchi
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Awesome food and fantastic service. A great warming feel to the place. Food was served quickly and was very tasty. Also had a great kids menu.

Visited September 2015

Gazzlock - Astra review TripAdvisor

Gazzlock

Exceptional Degustation
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Great ambience and service. Delicious cocktails and amazing food. Cocktails were on the money and the fireplace and decor enhanced the experience.

Visited September 2015

John R - Astra review TripAdvisor

John R

“Back at Astra, This place is AMAZING
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Have been back at Falls Creek all week, went to all the usual spots for food but we keep coming back to Astra for the chefs table dinner. We dinned on Monday nite, and we went straight to the degustation option and let me tell you the food here is so fresh and tasty that this place has scored the best chef on the mountain. Once again Silvano, the chef came to our table with our food which was just great, it wasn’t that busy so he had more time to talk with us this time and Josh was our waiter and he was also very accommodating, we started with the selection of salami with beautiful home made focaccia then the most amazing pan seared prawns with mint and dill, really fresh and tasty. Gnocchi is the standout dish at this place and Monday nights version was amazing with roasted field mushroom with chili and sage. The main was a knock out, sous vide lamb rump with braised lentils, just beautiful and the lamb cooked nice and pink, melt in the mouth, dessert as usual was great but by that time we were stuffed. Thank you guys, your chef is amazing and the rest of the staff are great, this place is in my opinion, the best on the mountain by far, will be sorry to see the chef go back to Melbourne and for that fact a really nice bunch of guys and girls who love there jobs leave,sorry to see the season end. Once again ASTRA ROCKS..

Visited September 2015

Adrianne d - Astra review TripAdvisor

Adrianne d

Relaxed dining without sacrificing the quality of food.
TripAdvisor 5 star rating

Dining at Astra is certainly a culinary exploration. The digestation menu is interesting, tasty, surprising and thoroughly enjoyable but not what I had expected. Staff are friendly, accommodating and offer really good service. This menu is Coeliac friendly and staff were well equipped to answer all questions I had. Astra in 2015 unfortunately lacks some of the intimate cosy atmosphere it was known for in previous years but believe the new management are on the way to a winning formula. I would highly recommend Astra for adults but would be inclined to avoid taking children.

Visited August 2015